City of New Hope Logo

City of New HopeMinnesota

City Council

The New Hope City Council is the legislative and policy-making body for the City of New Hope. The mayor presides over council meetings and represents the City at public events and in intergovernmental relationships. In all other ways, the mayor and council members have the same authority and responsibilities. The mayor and four council members all serve the community at large and are elected for four years in alternating terms.


The mayor and council members are elected to make decisions on behalf of New Hope residents. They adopt and oversee New Hope’s annual budget, set the annual property tax levy and identify other funding sources to fund City operations. The Council also focuses on the community’s goals, major projects, and long-term goals, including land use, redevelopment, capital improvements, equipment and infrastructure, and strategic planning.

The City Council strives to engage and involve residents in the decision-making process through effective communication, input at meetings, public hearings, neighborhood meetings, advisory commissions, and participation in civic and business organizations and community groups.

To read more about the members of the New Hope City Council visit the Council Members page.

Contact Us
City of New Hope | All Rights Reserved | Powered by CivicLive | © 2024 Civiclive.