City of New Hope Logo

City of New HopeMinnesota

Police Overview

Department Mission 

It is the mission of the New Hope Police Department to protect the lives and property of our residents and visitors, to reduce fear and enhance safety, and to work side by side with our diverse community. We are bound to do so with honor and integrity while holding each other to the highest of standards in order to earn public trust. 

Department Vision 

To professionally serve -- as well as represent -- our diverse community as we strive for togetherness through accountability and transparency, all while ensuring New Hope continues to be a safe place to live, work and visit. 

Command Staff

Chief Tim HoytChief Tim Hoyt began his career in 1995 in the state of Wisconsin. He served with the Eau Claire, Augusta and Chippewa Falls Police Departments. He held the ranks of reserve deputy, patrol officer, SWAT, detective and worked with the West Metro Drug Task Force investigating controlled substance crimes on a state and federal level.

In 2006 Chief Hoyt joined the New Hope Police Department as a patrol officer. Before becoming a sergeant in 2011, he served on the SWAT team and worked with the Northwest Metro Drug Task Force. In addition to his duties as  sergeant, he oversaw New Hope’s field training program since 2012, and the K-9 program since 2014. His appointment to chief came in 2020.

Chief Hoyt holds an Associate of Science in law enforcement, a Bachelor of Arts in criminal justice studies and a Master of Arts in criminal justice leadership. He is a member of Concordia University St. Paul Alumni Association and National Training Officer Association.   

Captain JohnsonCaptain Dave Johnson was hired as a police officer for the City of New Hope in 1999. He worked in specialized assignments including, field training officer, SWAT and investigations. After being promoted to sergeant in 2006, he supervised specialty units including the field training officer unit, traffic unit, TZD grant group and POST mandated training for patrol along with several other assignments, including fleet management. 

Captain Johnson was promoted to captain in 2021 and currently manages the patrol division, which includes six patrol sergeants, 14 patrol officers, two K-9 officers, a traffic officer, animal control officer, police reserve unit and four community service officers. He also represents the New Hope Police Department on several committees including the New Hope Safety Committee, city event planning committee, North Suburban Emergency Management Group, Hennepin County Radio Users Advisory Group and Hennepin County Radio Standard Operating Procedures Group.

Captain Johnson graduated from Minnesota State University Mankato with a bachelor's degree in law enforcement and corrections. He is a graduate of the Northwestern University School of Staff and Command. Captain Johnson is also a graduate of the FBI Law Enforcement Executive Development Association's Command Institute, MN BCA Leadership in Police Organizations and is certified in emergency management. 

Captain Slawson

Captain Scott Slawson started with the New Hope Police Department in 1994 as a police officer. He has worked in specialized assignments including field training officer, firearms instructor, bike patrol and commercial vehicle enforcement.  After being promoted to Sergeant in 1999, he supervised specialty units and patrol shifts.  

Captain Slawson was promoted to Captain in 2011 and currently leads the investigations division, which includes three investigators, a crime analyst, two school resource officers, a drug task force officer, and the community engagement and crime prevention officer. Captain Slawson coordinates case assignments to investigators and coordinates with federal, state and local agencies on investigations. He has served as the administrator of the Northwest Metro Drug Task Force/Violent Crime Enforcement Team, is a liaison to the MN Fusion Center, and oversees security of the department’s criminal justice data provided by the FBI and the BCA. 

Captain Slawson is certified in emergency management and is a graduate of the FBI Law Enforcement Executive Development Association’s Command Institute.


New Hope Police Department
4401 Xylon Avenue North
New Hope, MN 55428



Non-Emergency Dispatch:



Fax: 763-531-5174

Office Hours:

8am to 6pm Monday-Friday
10am-2pm Saturday
CLOSED Sundays and Holidays

City of New Hope | All Rights Reserved | Powered by CivicLive | © 2024 Civiclive.