City of New Hope Picture
+ Larger Font | - Smaller Font
Home / Government / Boards and Commissions / Human Rights Commission

Human Rights Commission

Staff Liaison
Tim Fournier, Chief
New Hope Police Department
4401 Xylon Avenue North
Phone: 763-531-5141
Fax: 763-531-5136

First Monday of each month
7 p.m.
New Hope City Hall
Parks and recreation conference room

Overview and Function


Agendas and Minutes

2014 Human Rights Essay Contest Winners

The New Hope City Council recognized the winners of the 2014 New Hope Human Rights Essay Contest at its April 28 meeting. More than 240 eighth grade students from Plymouth Middle School wrote essays on the theme “Prejudice and stereotypes affect the way we perceive and interact with each other, even when we don't realize it. How do stereotypes affect our society and how do they damage human rights?" The students explained their viewpoint by referencing the Bill of Rights, the Universal Declaration of Human Rights, and/or the Minnesota Human Rights Act.

The essays were reviewed by members of the Human Rights Commission, assisted by council members and Police Department staff. The winners of the contest were Draevon May, first place; Elise Gallup, second place; and Katie Daly, third place. Raven Black, Sarah Momsen, and Anya Schmidt received honorable mentions for their essays. All of the winners received a certificate from the New Hope Human Rights Commission, and the first through third place winners read their essays for the City Council. Draevon May's essay was forwarded to the League of Minnesota Human Rights Commission for entry in the statewide contest.

More Information

Click on the link below to download a brochure about the New Hope Human Rights Commission