City of New Hope Picture
+ Larger Font | - Smaller Font
Home / About New Hope / Watersheds

New Hope's Watersheds

Portions of New Hope are located in two different watersheds. Northern New Hope, roughly the area north of 42nd Avenue, is located in the Shingle Creek watershed. Southern New Hope is part of the Bassett Creek watershed.

In the mid 1980s, New Hope became a member of two watershed management commissions that were formed to govern surface and groundwater management within the two watersheds. The commissions were formed through a joint powers agreement by the member cities, and two commissions are made of representatives from each member cities. Both commissions strive to reduce flooding, maintain area wetlands, lakes and streams, and improve the quality of storm water runoff by reducing the pollution and sediment carried by the runoff.

The Shingle Creek Watershed Management Commission consists of nine member cities: New Hope, Brooklyn Center, Brooklyn Park, Crystal, Maple Grove, Minneapolis, Osseo, Plymouth and Robbinsdale. The Shingle Creek watershed encompasses a 43.5 square mile area (watershed map). The southeastern portion of the watershed, including northern New Hope, drains through Twin Lakes to Ryan Lake. Ryan Creek completes the Twin Lake portion of the drainage by flowing into Shingle Creek approximately 1.2 miles upstream of the Mississippi. For more information, visit the Shingle Creek Commission’s website.

The Bassett Creek Watershed Management Commission also consists of nine member cities: New Hope, Crystal, Golden Valley, Medicine Lake, Minneapolis, Minnetonka, Plymouth, Robbinsdale and St. Louis Park. The Bassett Creek watershed exceeds 40 square miles in area (watershed map). Southern New Hope flows into the north branch of Bassett Creek, which joins the main stem of the creek immediately upstream of Highway 100 before continuing on through Golden Valley and Minneapolis to the Mississippi River. For more information, visit the Bassett Creek Commission’s website.